Contact: Caroline Tabler or James Arnold (202) 224-2353
February 25, 2021 

Cotton, Gallagher Introduce Iran Sanctions Resolution 

Washington, D.C. – Today Senator Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas), Representative Mike Gallagher (R-Wisconsin), and 44 other members of Congress introduced a resolution to oppose lifting sanctions on Iran. The members released the following statement after introduction:

“The United States must maintain sanctions on the Iranian regime until it abandons its nuclear ambitions and ends its support for violence and terror around the region. Iran took advantage of weak policies during the Obama Administration, and President Biden must not repeat those same mistakes.”

Cosigners of the resolution include: Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), Roy Blunt (R-Missouri), John Boozman (R-Arkansas), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R- North Dakota), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Montana), Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee), Josh Hawley (R-Missouri), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi), Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), Ben Sasse (R-Nebraska), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), John Thune (R-South Dakota), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama), Todd Young (R-Indiana), and 20 members of the House of Representatives.


  • In 2019, Cotton and Gallagher introduced a similar resolution to reaffirm support for U.S. policy barring Iran from developing or acquiring nuclear weapons and to reject sanctions relief.